The 9 modes of music

It's more than just major and minor. Often when introducing musical modes, the terms 'happy' and 'sad' are used. And it works to explain the overall theme for beginners. But as a piano teacher in Sutton and online, as my students become more familiar with being around music, I begin using the terms 'bright' and 'dark'.

In music, there are 9 modes. And these can be placed on a scale of brightness. Modes are a type of scale.

The 9 modes from brightest to darkest:

  1. Lydian augmented

  2. Lydian

  3. Major

  4. Mixolydian

  5. Dorian

  6. Minor

  7. Phrygian

  8. Locrian

  9. Super locrian